13 Premier League Clubs That Changed From Their Original Names

13 Premier League Clubs That Changed From Their Original Names

The English Championship underwent some reforms until the Premier League came into place in 1992. Before that, Some of the Football Clubs were registered and known with names different from the one they are called today, though historical data indicated some maintained the original name they were established with.

As part of the project of bringing Historical data to you, SirKinGsEliTe has studied and complied the very EPL Football Clubs who changed from their Original names, and the years they did so.

Below are the 13 Premier League Clubs who changed their Original Name(s) including the year(s) they did so, as arranged in an alphabetical order:


Arsenal FC: Named “Dial Square” after been founded in 1886, but changed to “Woolwich Arsenal” in 1891. It became Arsenal FC before the start of the 1912/1913 season.


Everton FC — Everton started out in 1878 with the name St Domingo’s FC. A year later, the club was renamed Everton Football Club.


Leeds United — founded in 1904, it was initially called LeedsCity F.C before it was disbanded. However, Leeds United came into place in 1919.

Leicester FC –– founded in 1884 as Leicester Fosse F.C, but later changed to Leicester City in 1919.

Liverpool FC –– known as “Everton F.C. and Athletic Grounds Ltd” (Everton Athletic for short), the club became Liverpool F.C. in March 1892.


Manchester City — Founded in 1880 as St. Mark’s (West Gorton), it became Ardwick Association Football Club in 1887, and later Manchester City in 1894.

Manchester United — Founded as Newton Heath LYR Football Club in 1878, changed its name to Manchester United in 1902.


Newcastle United — formerly from two clubs Newcastle East End and West End FC, but merged in 1892 to become Newcastle United.


Southampton FC — Originally known as St. Mary’s Young Men’s Association (St Mary’s Y.M.A) and later to St. Mary’s F.C. in the 1887/1888 season. It later became Southampton St. Mary’s when the club joined the Southern League in 1894. After winning the Southern League title in 1896/1897, the club was renamed Southampton F.C.


Tottenham Hotspur –— Originally named “Hotspur Football Club”, the club was formed on 5 September 1882. In April 1884 the club was renamed “Tottenham Hotspur Football Club”


Watford FC — formerly called Watford Rovers in 1881, after the amalgamation of West Herts and Watford St. Mary’s in 1898, it became known as Watford Football Club.

West Ham United FC — Founded in 1895 as Thames Ironworks, but was reformed in 1900 as West Ham United.

Wolverhampton FC — Founded in 1877 as St. Luke’s F.C, after merging with a cricket club in 1879, it became Wolverhampton Wanderers.


Dominic Nwodo

One Of The Best Content Creator/Blogger In Nigeria. DM Me For Business 08109211747 Cath Me Up On Instagram @dominic_nwodo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button